The Magic of Music

The Magic of Music

Here’s the CD I made for Katie. I couldn’t have done it without my amazing best friend Judy! It has 19 tracks of me singing songs that I will sing to Katie. Most of the songs are fun songs and lullabies the I sing in the music classes I teach but we also recorded one by Alison Krauss called Evermore. It’s a beautiful adoption appropriate song that was passed along to me by my friend Veera, many years ago before she knew anything about the adoption 😉
My wish is that the familiarity of my voice and the songs will bring Katie as much comfort as possible during the difficult transition away from the only home she has known. I believe very strongly in the power and magic of music, especially for children and that this CD will make a difference…it’s the best thing I can give her from so far away.
I sent it via UPS on Jan 31st and unfortunately it has been stuck in Guanzhou since Feb 3rd on it’s way to Nanchang because of the extended holiday of Chinese New Year. Augh! I’m so frustrated. At this point, all i can hope for is that it arrives before I do and that it will get to the orphanage and then passed along to her foster home in enough time that she can have some repeated exposure to the songs. If not, it won’t have much impact at all. FINGERS CROSSED!!

Image

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karen
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 14:12:01

    On your end, you might want to record (and loop the recording) onto a CD, the Chinese song, Mama Hao. It’s about as popular in China as “hush little baby” is in the US. We did that and took the song with us on my husband’s iPhone. It was very comforting for our daughter to listen to at night. The orphanage nannies sang it to the kids when we visited the orphanage. My daughter is now 8 years old, and it’s still one of her favorite lullaby’s. Im sure its because it was a fmailiar tune before we adopted her. Here’s a link to the song.
    http://easywaytolearnchinese.blogspot.com/2011/05/chinese-childrenpop-song-shi-shang.html

    Reply

  2. Elizabeth
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 16:21:08

    Great ideas ! You are going to be a great mom for your daughter ! I wish I would have known about some of these sensory ideas. Our daughter was 5. We sent a photo puzzle of our family so she could learn about us through play. I think that helped with gotcha day because she was happy to see us All the best for you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

